The Trenches of the Plant Based Life

I’ve always loved dirt.  The feel of it, the smell of it, the pure earthiness of it between my fingers and toes.  My brother and I played outside and in the dirt all the time.  My mother learned early not to dress me in white.  If there was a trench around, we were in it, throwing dirt clods at each other.  If there wasn’t one around, we were digging one or climbing the nearest tree.

Now, over 40 years later, I still love dirt and being in the trenches, but it’s different now. The dirt is now in my little garden and being in the trenches means that one-on-one, I’m helping others understand why and how to eat plant based.  It means being a resource for organizing, preparing and cooking whole, healthy foods and motivating those willing to change their eating habits.  If I can do it, I believe anyone can.

It takes time to acclimate mentally and physically.  It isn’t something to stop and start, but to be as consistent as possible.  Even if you know you can’t be 100%, be as consistent as you can and allow your body to adjust to your food choices.

It is well worth the time and your body will thank you!

Leave a Reply

